Refreshing Pomegranate & Lime Mocktail!

 

Hubby, a die-hard fruit lover, bought two pomegranates which turned out to be less sweet than we would have liked. Now, a pomegranate is a sacred commodity in our house as my health-freak of a better-half loves to chant to me, the benefits of this wonder fruit.

  • It is loaded in anti-oxidants
  • It is rich in Vitamin A, C, E and K
  • It is rich in Minerals like Calcium, Phosphorous, Potassium, Iron and Folic acid.
  • It is good for heart
  • It helps in maintaining the blood sugar level
  • It helps in maintaining the blood Pressure
  • It is good for hair and skin………….

*Yawn!*

…..etc….etc…etc…etc!

So to summarize, we in our house, can never throw away this sacred fruit. This is the reason that I decided to make a refreshing Summer Mocktail with it!

The Mocktail turned out superb and I had never imagined that something so wonderful could be made out of the leftover pomegranate seeds in my refrigerator. Hubby liked it so much that in the five minutes I was not in the room, he polished off my Mocktail too. Hmph!

DSC_2849

This drink is perfect for summers and it is somewhat like a Mojito because it has all the elements of a Mojito, except for the alcohol.

Give this amazing beverage a go friends, and enjoy! Happy Summer!

Ingredients:

– Seeds of two pomegranates

– 1 tbsn Brown Sugar or Honey

– Juice of 1 lemon

– A bunch of fresh Mint leaves

– Some Lemon wedges

 

– Sparkling Water or Soda

– Some Ice-cubes

– Some sugar spread out in the plate, for coating the rim

Method:

– Preserve a spoonful of pomegranate seeds in a dry bowl and set aside.

– In a blender, blend together the remaining pomegranate seeds, lime juice, sugar/honey, and Soda to a smooth mix.

– Sieve and discard the solids. Set aside the sieved liquid!

– In a mortar, crush some mint leaves and lemon wedges to a coarse texture.

– In a large jug, throw in your crushed mint leaves and lemon wedges. Also throw in the ice-cubes.

– Pour in your blended pomegranate smoothie on top of them.

– Add some more soda and mix everything together. Adjust the sweetness of sugar/honey, according to your own preference. Set aside.

– Take the bowl containing the loose pomegranate seeds that we had saved, and with a spoon, crush them until they ooze out their juice. Preserve the juice and throwaway the seeds.

– Take a glass and inverting it, dip the rim in the pomegranate juice in the bowl, from the above step.

– Immediately, dip the rim in the sugar spread out in the plate so that it coats the juice entirely, giving the rim an attractive coating of sugar all over.

– Pour your mocktail in the glasses and add some more torn mint leaves and a lemon wedge in each glass for additional flavour.

– Serve immediately and Enjoy!

DSC_2818 copy

DSC_2827

 

*Notes:

– You can also use sugar syrup for this Mocktail, instead of honey or brown sugar.

– You can substitute the sparkling water with soda, lemonade, Seven-up or Sprite!

– For a special occasion or a dinner-party, you can add Vodka to this Mocktail and turn it into a delicious cocktail!

 

 

 

 

74 Comments Add yours

  1. Thanks shared it on my wife whatsup 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Opps no option of sharing on Social Media.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much! 🙂 Hope you both like it! If you want to share on social media, just copy the link and paste!

      Liked by 2 people

      1. I am using mobile, so let me check how to do it.

        Liked by 2 people

  3. Mr.Lonely says:

    Sounds yummy!! must taste too… But the problem with e is that 1 glass can’t help my tummy so I would need atleast a Bottle full of it….😇

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Ha ha! Just make a giant jug and…glug .glug..glug! 😀 Thanks so much! 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Mr.Lonely says:

        Ingredients are not there😢

        Like

  4. I always pin them for later. At that moment of browsing, I always miss one or two ingredients 😛 But that is one healthy mocktail. Ginger and pomegranate – interesting 🙂

    Like

    1. Hello hello! So, you are back from your Cornish dream! ❤ I just love the post-vacation phase where you can't stop looking at the pics and talking about the awesome getaway 😀 Yes, this has all the right things and I will take this thousands of times over eating pomegranate as it is! Lol! xx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No I am yet in it 😉 Today we are taking it a bit easy. We get back home tomorrow evening. Cannot wait to post – have thousands! Ha ha ha, so here’s looking at you mocktail girl xx

        Like

      2. Wow now I am jealous! 😉 enjoy yourself to the fullest!x

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Thank ye. I am just doing that. Getting back home with a few scones-and-pasty-fat pounds on me hips x

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Verry Nice 🙂 Yapppiiiii

    Liked by 2 people

  6. flavours2017 says:

    So refreshing 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  7. InspiresN says:

    looks so refreshing! simple ingredients as well , bookmarked this 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Yum! Gorgeous photos! Have you thought about adding a Pinterest button? I’d love to pin this one. I don’t mind sharing on Facebook; however, pinning in Pinterest keeps them in a nice file. As everyone else, love this as a healthy potion, summer’s coming!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanx so much Sharon! That’s a great suggestion.I will get on it immediately! xx

      Like

      1. No thank you! I love your food! Well the thought of making your recipes and Pinterest will make it easier, at least for me. Thank you!!😀

        Liked by 1 person

    2. Just wanted to let you know that I have added the pinterest button now! 🙂 Thnx again for the very helpful advice! xx

      Liked by 1 person

  9. that sounds delicious! I must confess, I would totally add rum to mine….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanx Kathleen! Hope you are feeling better now hon! About the Rum….You never know…. maybe I added a wee bit to mine as well….. *giggle!*

      Liked by 1 person

      1. And yes, I’m feeling a bit better. The last couple of days have been good and I’ve actually managed to get some things accomplished (including getting out of my apartment). We’ll see what the next few days bring, as I have a couple of appointments.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I am sure it will all get better and better with each new day! Sending lots of good wishes your way! xx

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanx so much!😊

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Natalie Vinh says:

    Sounds so delicious!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanx so much!😊

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Yum!! They look so beautiful!

    Liked by 2 people

  12. PriyaPandian says:

    Beautiful share👍 Have some pome’s lying in my fruit basket. Great idea to use it out. Bookmarked this ☺️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You will like it Priya!😊 Thank you!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. PriyaPandian says:

        👍👍☺️

        Liked by 1 person

  13. Lavs Raj says:

    Refreshing.. and very simple.. bookmarking it! 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  14. Megala says:

    Great recipe! Fantastic photos!!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. CreativeSiba says:

    I wish I had a sip from your Delight😻

    Look 👀 one idea is popping in my mind

    We from different field of Bloggers across the Globe 🌎 why not start something a new ?

    If you agree for the Adventure and show your interest I will then tell you my idea 💡.

    Regards
    CreativeSiba

    Liked by 2 people

  16. Fun Fun Cook says:

    It looks delicious!

    Liked by 2 people

  17. Writings By Payal Tyagi says:

    Wow dear.It’s too awesome . Thanks for getting connected with me now I will be able to check awesome recipes ….he..he.
    You have an awesome blog, stay connected .

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks so much Payal! 🙂 You have a wonderful blog too! Yes, let’s keep in touch! xx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Writings By Payal Tyagi says:

        Sure ,by the way what’s your name . I think it’s not mentioned in your intro , forgive me if I am wrong :p

        Liked by 1 person

      2. It’s Mallika! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Writings By Payal Tyagi says:

        Hi Mallika ,nice to meet you again 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Same here dear Payal! 😀 you are sweet!

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Writings By Payal Tyagi says:

        🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  18. Looks so refreshing. Would definitely make it one day

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thankyou Pooja! 🙂 I am sure you will like it! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes. Without doubt I am sure of it. Will try and let you know 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  19. Mouthwatering !!

    Amazing pics…

    Liked by 2 people

  20. Such a beat the heat phenomenon! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Really it’s so refreshing! 🙂 Good to get in touch with you Ambika! Thanx for the follow! x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hey I am sorry, I just vanished! Have been away, travelling. How is the foodie?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That’s all right!😊 I am On a sabbatical frm nlogging myself as I am relaxing at my mum’s in India! Have come for a month long vacay💃

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Sounds fun! I know you cook great! But mum’s food is indisputably the best 🙂
        How is it going?

        Liked by 1 person

  21. Oooo this sounds amazing!!!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanx so much!😊

      Liked by 1 person

  22. Shreya says:

    I really need to bookmark it! 😊

    Liked by 2 people

  23. Sumith says:

    Beautiful capture! And sounds delicious.

    Liked by 2 people

  24. babl says:

    Thanks for delicious Mocktail. I am sharing it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. babl says:

        Thanks. 🙂

        Like

  25. Thats healty stuff.. Looks yummy, perfect for some weekend afternoon..will try it out.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment