Chicken Katsu Curry

Hello hello! 🙂

Hope everyone is doing okay in various parts of the world? The present circumstances seem unreal , right?

I have barely stepped out of the house ever since the Irish PM announced the closure of schools and colleges in March. I was in college at the time (I am a culinary arts student) and as soon as the news popped up on everyone’s mobiles, the murmer in class increased to downright noisy rumble. I still remember the look on our lecturer’s face. We were told to clear out our lockers and set off for homes immediately. That was the last day that I rode a bus, went to the city center and even wore proper clothes other than pajamas.

Truth be told, as an introvert I am not having any trouble staying at home. We were bombed with several assignments by the college soon after (9 to be precise) and it kept me busy till I submited them all around a week ago.

Now, I want to use this time creatively, especially for my blog but …….

1. We are rationing so I don’t feel like buying elaborate things for new recipes at the moment. Our local supermarket is managing a flow of the essentials comfortably and that’s a big boon.

2. I am just a lazy person.

After the completion of assignments, I have only spent my time netflixing and chilling. So, yesterday, I dragged my feet to make something fancy for the blog and also for my better half who was slowly turning into a bitter-half at eating dal-sabzi day after day.

The Japanese Katzu curry has been popping up more and more on Instagram than ever before. Hubby is not a fan of what constitute a “curry” in UK and Ireland and please don’t associate it with the Indian curries. They are nothing similar. I however, like it with boiled rice and chips and wanted to try a similar gravy at home for sometime now. So, I took a leap of faith yesterday and finally have a blog post for my poor, abandoned space today.

It turned out good taste-wise but I don’t know how I managed to change the color of the gravy which was supposed to be yellow to GREEN! Haven’t a clue.

Anyway, try it out. It yummy and easy and flavorful. Liked it!

Prayers and thoughts to everyone who is going through rough times at this moment. Let us all help each other through this insane period which will pass soon. It has to!

Take care! xx

Ingredients:

For the Sauce-

  • 2 Chicken breasts
  • 1 onion
  • Some minced Ginger & Garlic
  • 1 tbsp Flour
  • 1.5 cup chicken stock
  • ½ cup Coconut milk
  • 2 tsp Medium Curry Powder
  • 1 tsp Turmeric powder
  •  1 tsp Sugar
  • A dash of soy sauce
  • Salt to taste
  • Some steamed Carrots & Potatoes

For the Chicken-

Flour, 1 Beaten egg, Breadcrumbs and Oil to fry

Method:

  • Heat the oil in a large pan and add the ginger, garlic and onions. Cook on medium heat till the onion turns pink and translucent.
  • Add the salt, curry powder and turmeric. Fry them off for a few seconds.
  • Throw in the flour and cook till the raw smell goes away. This will act as a thickener for your sauce.
  • Next, add your chicken stock and mix well with a whisk or a spatula. Bring to boil and cook for 5-6 mins. Switch off the gas and cool.
  • Strain the sauce through a sieve to remove lumps and onion bits.
  • Transfer the gravy back in the pan and add the coconut milk next. Cook it off for 4-5 minutes.
  • Add sugar and a dash of soy sauce. Put on simmer.
  • In the meanwhile, prepare your chicken for frying. Place the chicken breasts in between a sheet of baking parchment and with a rolling pin, gently beat them till they flatten a bit.
  • Put your oil to heat for deep-frying.
  • Coat the chicken breasts in flour and then, dust it.
  • Coat next in beaten egg and lastly in bread-crumbs. Deep fry till cooked well, golden brown and crispy.
  • Slice fried chicken and serve with piping hot gravy, steamed vegetables and boiled rice.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. InspiresN says:

    The picture is so tempting , great recipe .Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. Sumith says:

    Very impressed on your photography! The chicken sounds absolutely delicious. Thanks for this great share.

    Like

Leave a comment