Hot, crispy deep-fried prawns

Have I mentioned before that I am not too keen on sea-food? Yeah, maybe a couple hundred times…he he!

Well, I occasionally eat fish and that’s it but… if there’s one thing I am a total sucker for, it’s crispy fried prawns. They are so delicious that even I cannot resist them when they are put in front of me. I pout when hubby orders prawns in a restaurant and then funnily end up eating most of them myself, with my better half fuming across the table!

I first started to make them at home when we moved abroad and I saw a pack of peeled and cooked prawns at the super-market. They seemed easy enough to handle. Earlier, you could never make me step inside the kitchen when hubby bought mussels or clams or prawns home and he would be cleaning and peeling them. Now, I am pretty comfortable with cooking non-veg and sea-food dishes on my own and golden fried prawns are one of the weekend favorites at our home.

Here’s the recipe….Give it a go and enjoy!

Ingredients:

8-10 Jumbo, tiger or king prawns

2 tsp soya sauce

1 tbsn ginger-garlic paste

Some fresh lemon juice

1 tbsn cornflour

3 tbsp plain flour

1/2 pinch baking powder

1tsp red chilly powder

1 tsp pepper powder

1 egg

Salt to taste

Oil for frying

Method:

-Peel, clean and de-vein the prawns. Leave the tail on. Pat dry.

-Marinate the prawns in soya sauce, g.g paste, lemon juice and pepper. Cover with cling film and chill in the refrigerator for an hour.

-In a bowl, whip together the flour, cornflour, egg, red chilly powder, baking powder, salt and a little water to get a smooth, thick batter.

-Pour this batter over the marinated prawns and mix gently so that all the prawns are totally covered in it.

– Heat oil in a pan. Test if the oil is hot enough by dropping a drop of batter into the oil. If it sizzles immediately, it means that the oil is perfect for frying. Drop the coated prawns in the oil one by one and deep-fry on medium heat to get delicious golden fried crispy prawns. Do not overcrowd the oil. Fry them in two batches if needed.

-Serve hot with the sweet chilly sauce or any sauce of your liking.

Note: 

For the things that are to be deep-fried, the end batter should always taste a tad over-salty to your tongue when you taste it. That’s how I know that it is going to be perfect in the dish, after the deep-frying.

dsc_0035

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

