Stereotypical, spicy Indian Chicken Curry

I grew up in a vegetarian household. My mum belongs to a family that did not even use onions and garlic in the kitchen for cooking. So, growing up I never saw raw meat enter my house even once! My mum isn’t a rigid person though and allowed us to eat eggs and chicken dishes in the restaurants. However, I could never imagine myself cooking meat with my own hands. When I married a non-veg loving, punjabi guy who wanted me to cook chicken and mutton dishes at home, the issue at hand was that again, my mother-in-law was a vegetarian! So, who could teach me? I must have had a hundred disastrous cooking sessions before I began to grasp the basic tricks to make a perfect chicken curry.

This recipe is of a spicy, rich chicken curry made in a tangy onion-tomato sauce, simmered with exotic Indian spices. Trust me, if you master this recipe, you can play with it to your hearts’ content, to try all the gravies that you eat and love at those fine-dining Indian restaurants. Give it a go and enjoy!

Ingredients:

1 whole chicken, cut into pieces

2 small grated tomatoes

2 large onions finely chopped

1tbsp Ginger-garlic paste

Some slit green chillies

1tsp Turmeric powder

1tbsp red chilly powder

2 tbsps coriander powder

2 tbsps meat masala powder

1 tsp crushed kasoori methi

1 big cardamom pod

1 bayleaf

1 tsp cumin seeds

1 small cinnamon stick

salt as per taste.

Chopped coriander leaves

 

Method:

-In a pan, heat oil and add your chopped onions and fry them on medium heat till they are brown and crisp.

-After onions are ready, add- bayleaf, cinnamon stick, big cardamom, cloves and cumin seeds.

-Add ginger garlic paste next and fry till the raw aroma goes away.

-Add turmeric and fry for 20 seconds.

-Add chicken next and fry for the next 7-8 minutes.

-When the chicken have completely changed color and seem a bit roasted all over, add grated tomatoes and slit green chillies. Sprinkle the salt on the tomatoes, cover and simmer till the tomatoes seem cooked.

-Add hot water to increase the gravy and also add all the dry masalas.

-Simmer the curry on medium low flame till the chicken gets cooked. Make sure you check and stir it at regular intervals.

-Once done, add lots of chopped coriander leaves, some fresh lemon juice and serve hot with rice or chapattis!

14495445_10154571309564687_8292025824859554952_n

Leave a Reply

